Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

This salad is so delicious + so easy.  I throw everything together and then let it marinate for a few hours in the refrigerator before I eat it.

First things first, let’s talk quinoa.  KEEN WHAAAA???  Ok, by now, you are living under a rock if you don’t know what quinoa is.  While it’s likely a protein fad, I do love the nutty flavor and the texture…and did I mention it’s a complete protein all by itself?  It has all those aminos you need, all in one! What, protein from a plant?!  😉

If you don’t have a rice cooker -invest in one. I promise.  It will simplify your life.  Oatmeal, quinoa, lentils, oh, and rice 🙂 and so much more is ready quickly and cooked perfectly.  If you don’t have one – I really like GOOP’s perfectly cooked quinoa method.  I like to make this salad in big batches to share, so adjust the following accordingly:

  • 4 cups cooked quinoa
  • jar of sliced kalmata olives
  • box (or can) of garbanzo beans
  • two tomatoes, diced
  • one cucumber, diced
  • 1 small red onion, diced
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • salt + pepper to taste
  • fresh chopped parsley

I love this by itself, as a dip with pita chips, over a big bed of arugula.  If I’m looking for a little extra punch I will drizzle some balsamic or Bragg’s liquid aminos over the top.  You could also sprinkle some feta on top.

Leave a Reply

